How to Get an ITIL Expert Certification

Getting a certification is not an easy task especially if it’s not just some Certificate of Attendance that you’re aiming.  By having one, you need to go through a lot like trainings, exams and sometimes that would take weeks or even months or even years of prolonged agony. Nevertheless, it grants an individual the verification that he or she is more than capable of doing their job.

Before the Internet became mainstream, these certifications were to be taken personally and exams were hand-written. But now that we’ve advanced, there are lots of certification that could be taken online. You just choose from the vast sea of options in accordance to your course. However, before we get to the how to’s, let’s make sure we get to know the what’s first.

Brief History on ITIL

So, what is ITIL? ITIL stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. ITIL wasn’t built in a day. It goes way back in the 1980’s and started its roots as a library. Over the years, ITIL has released several versions of volumes towards IT services basing on U.K’s Government’s Central Communications and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA) recommendations.

Version 1 of ITIL was made up of 30 volumes ranging from the years 1986 to 1996.

However, in ITIL version 2, these 30 volumes were compressed and compiled into eight sets of books. This was in the year 2000/2001.

Back in May of 2007, ITIL again released Version 3. It was now known as ITIL 2007 Edition.  It had five fundamental publications namely:

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement

Apparently, this wasn’t enough and in July 2011 ITIL once again updated the contents for additional guidance and defining properly or correcting inconsistencies in the last publications.

itil expert certification cost

Why choose ITIL?

As of the moment, it is one of the most sought certifications in the IT Department. For IT professionals, getting an ITIL Certification might not be deemed as necessary as your skills but it sure does helps.

Furthermore, being ITIL Certified can lead to more opportunities especially for companies who require or follow the practices from ITIL.

Levels of Certifications

This article is about getting an ITIL Expert Certification. However, before properly defining on how to get one, let us briefly discuss on the other levels and why getting an ITIL Expert Certification takes a lot of time.

ITIL uses a credit system. As those credits are applied, this lets the applicant qualify for the next level of certification in accordance to each module. The following listed below are the five levels of ITIL qualifications:

  • ITIL Foundation Level

Taking ITIL Foundation certification doesn’t require any prerequisites in order to take the examination. By taking this test, this lets the applicants gain 2 credits that they can use upon pursuing higher levels of certification.

ITIL Foundation examination mostly tackles basic terminologies and or concepts that are linked to the ITIL service lifecycle.

The exam also contains 40 questions and is in multiple choice format.

  • ITIL Intermediate Level

Before being able to get in this level, one must have taken and passed the ITIL Foundation Certification first. By taking this test, this lets the applicants gain 15 to 16 credits that they can use upon pursuing higher levels of certification.

The Intermediate Level tackles topics that could range from Service Strategy, Service Design, Continual Service Improvement, Service Capabilities, Service Transition, Planning, Operational Support, Service Offerings, Agreements, Support and etc.

  • ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle or MALC

Before taking this test, applicants are required to pass the ITIL Foundation examination and the Intermediate examination. Basically, an individual is required to have 17 credits in order to take this certification.

By taking this exam lets the applicants garner an additional 5 credits and is a requirement before taking ITIL Expert Level Certification.

The examination format for Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) is as follows:

  • Multiple Choice
  • 35 marks required to pass (70% Passing Rate)
  • 2 hours duration
  • Closed book
  • ITIL Expert Level

Now, we’ve finally reached ITIL Expert Level Certification.

itil expert certification salary

In order to take this particular certification, every applicant must have already an accumulated 22 credits from the previous exams or certifications namely: ITIL Foundation Examination, ITIL Intermediate Level Certification, ITIL MALC or Managing Across the Lifecycle Level Certification.

We’ll discuss more about ITIL Expert Level Certification on the next part of this article.

  • ITIL Master Qualification

Once an individual passes the ITIL Expert Level Certification, he or she is encouraged to take it to the higher level.

In the Master Qualification Examination, instead of letting you take an examination, everything would be like an interview where in the individual or the applicant is asked to explain how to apply the knowledge, techniques and management in real life situations. 

itil expert certification online

ITIL Expert Level Certification

In this portion of the article, we’ll discuss more about the details on ITIL Expert Level Certification.

So first things first, the ones listed below are a few details on the requirements before taking the examination.

  • ITIL Foundation Certificate
  • ITIL Intermediate Level Certificate
  • Earned credits from the previous course namely: ITIL Foundation Level, ITIL Intermediate Level and ITIL Management Across The Lifecycle (MALC). We’ll discuss more about MALC later on.

For those who already have earlier ITIL Foundation Certificates but did not successfully achieve the Foundation Bridge certificate before may need to pass the current ITIL Foundation examination in order to take ITIL Expert Level Certification.

Same goes for individuals who are already holding ITIL Service Manager Qualifications and Practitioner Qualifications.  Those who have the following certificates of the aforementioned and who would like to take ITIL Intermediate examinations are required to take the ITIL Foundation Certificate examination. Other than that, they are also required to take and pass the following examinations:

  • Service Strategy Module or Continual Service Improvement Module
  • Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) Qualification

This is to ensure that there’s full understanding in all of the concepts that must be learned and is basically a review from the courses the applicant has taken before.

itil expert certification value

Examination Proper

If you’re self-learning or reviewing for the examination, you could always refer to ITSM website for the nearest accredited organizations that offers ITIL courses and ask for consultations.

For those already enrolled in one of those accredited organizations, there’s no need to worry for in every after course an exam will follow for the qualification of ITIL’s Expert Level Certification.